The Shadow Queen \\ spoiler-free book review

The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire, #1)

Title: The Shadow Queen

Author: C. J. Redwine

PublisherBalzer + Bray

FormatHardcover

Goodreads review: here


Synopsis

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman…and bring her Lorelai’s heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose. 

Continue reading “The Shadow Queen \\ spoiler-free book review”

Advertisements

Melora: WIP Updates – Characters, Aesthetics and a Pansexual Witch \\ part one

Hello!

If you’re new, I’ve been working on a novel since… January? More like June if we’re going with when I actually started to write it down.

But anyway, I have a novel! And it’s a diverse fantasy! And I have been consistently writing in it for a little while, so why not take you along with me?

But we can make this fun for the both of us – tell me about one of your projects! And if you’re interested in sticking around, you should update us on your novel every time I post one of these!

Continue reading “Melora: WIP Updates – Characters, Aesthetics and a Pansexual Witch \\ part one”

The Traitor’s Game \\ Spoiler-Free Book Review

The Traitor's Game (The Traitor's Game, #1)

Title: The Traitor’s Game

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

PublisherScholastic

FormatHardcover

Goodreads review: here


Synopsis

Nothing is as it seems in the kingdom of Antora. Kestra Dallisor has spent three years in exile in the Lava Fields, but that won’t stop her from being drawn back into her father’s palace politics. He’s the right hand man of the cruel king, Lord Endrick, which makes Kestra a valuable bargaining chip. A group of rebels knows this all too well – and they snatch Kestra from her carriage as she reluctantly travels home.

The kidnappers want her to retrieve the lost Olden Blade, the only object that can destroy the immortal king, but Kestra is not the obedient captive they expected. Simon, one of her kidnappers, will have his hands full as Kestra tries to foil their plot, by force, cunning, or any means necessary. As motives shift and secrets emerge, both will have to decide what – and who – it is they’re fighting for.

Continue reading “The Traitor’s Game \\ Spoiler-Free Book Review”

August Owlcrate Unboxing: Ruthless Royals

Hello!

I love Owlcrate. Probably no surprise if you’ve been around here for a while.

-insert smooth segue-

My August Owlcrate arrived! This month is Ruthless Royals – a common theme among YA novels. It’s the perfect box for fans of The Cruel Prince and Throne of Glass.

If this sounds interesting to you, then you’re in luck! They still have some boxes left! You can find it here.

Continue reading “August Owlcrate Unboxing: Ruthless Royals”

Updates: my break, what my blog is going to be and more

Hello!

It’s been a while – I haven’t posted since the beginning of July. My reason for that is there is one computer in my house and it broke at the beginning of the month. And I couldn’t really write on my phone.

(well, I am now. but it’s not fun.)

But TBH it was really great. I was so cuaght up that I didn’t get the chance to step back and look at the content I really wanted to make. And now that I have, get ready for some updates!

Continue reading “Updates: my break, what my blog is going to be and more”

Tips to Writing a Good Retelling \\ Guest Post by J.M. Sullivan

I love retellings.

It comes from my original love of fairy tales – heroes, villains, happy endings, I love all of it! And so when a new version of my old favorite comes out I can’t help but jump for it.

That said, as a writer I’ve always been too afraid to pick a story to retell. Because where do I even start? What kind of creativity liberty do I have, and what do I need to include? I have no idea.

So when I got the opportunity to have J.M Sullivan write a guest post, I knew that it had to be on how to write a retelling! (If you want credentials, I’ll have an authir bio below 😉)

So without further ado, here are some elements to include when you write a retelling:

Continue reading “Tips to Writing a Good Retelling \\ Guest Post by J.M. Sullivan”

Otrera \\ how she became the queen of the Amazons

Welcome to Myths With Marrill no.1

I know a lot about Greek myths. I’ve been reading and studying the stories for almost six years now and needless to say: I want to spread some knowledge of the things I love.

I’m going to start with the story of the most badass feminist in ancient Greece: Otrera. I don’t want to include all of her adventures, that would take a little bit, but let’s go over some of the key information.
Continue reading “Otrera \\ how she became the queen of the Amazons”