Legend | Review

Title: Legend (Legend series #1)

Author: Marie Lu

Genre Themes: Futuristic, Sci-Fi, Dystopian (?), Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Action, Romance

Date Published: Nov. 29, 2011

Cover Rating:

Buy: Legend

Synopsis: What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.


First of all: the font is gold. You heard me – gold! For all of Day’s chapters, they’re gold and for June’s, they’re the normal black. Very, very cool.

 

 

I liked the characters a lot. You get to see both sides of the story, which I found very helpful to moving the plot along, instead of hindering it.

The mystery aspect makes you suspect every character besides June and Day. So it was hard for me to truly trust any other side character until the end.

I was all cool with that. Untrustworthy characters? My bae.

 

Then there was Metias. It says in the synopsis that he dies, right? You all read that? And then what happens?

Yup. I got attached.

It actually hurt when he died. It took, like, three chapters for me to like him and pray that he doesn’t die despite the synopsis…then he did. And my heart shattered.

 

 

I thought the world was really cool, because it mentions things like the American flag, and little symbols like that in a very sneaky manner. It shows how this world got to where it is, and I really liked that.

 

 

I found it almost impossible to put down. Very fast paced, and not an incredible long book in the first place, which helped.

 

 

Overall, I loved this book and plan on buying the box set and finishing the series. Highly recommend.

 




Talk About This Book With Me Elsewhere!

Instagram

Pinterest

Goodreads

 

 

Advertisements

The Heart of Betrayal | Review

Title: The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2)

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Genre Themes: Fantasy, Royalty, Mystery, Romance

Date Published: July 7, 2015

Cover Rating: 4.5/5

Buy: The Heart of Betrayal

Synopsis: 

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape . . . and even less of being together.

Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has a magical gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than either Kaden or Lia foresaw.

Meanwhile, the foundations of Lia’s deeply-held beliefs are crumbling beneath her. Nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to her, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom she always believed to be barbarians but whom she now realizes are people who have been terribly brutalized by the kingdoms of Dalbreck and Morrighan. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her very sense of self, Lia will have to make powerful choices that affect her country, her people . . . and her own destiny.


I can’t say a whole lot about this book, since it is a sequel, so this is going to be rather short – sorry😣

 

Lia is still an amazing protagonist – and you definitely see progression in her character, inspired by her surroundings.

You also get Rafe’s and Kaden’s POVs, as well as Pauline’s. The different views and opinions are really interesting to read, and adds to the world and the realistic aspect of it.

 

There is less of a traveling aspect, but I didn’t entirely mind. I was fine learning about Venda instead.

 

The world building is incredible and really fun to try and figure out and get into.

Speaking of ‘figuring out’, the mystery aspect is still there – and getting better! I so cannot wait to see how it is resolved!

 

That’s a really, really sad review. I feel like I should say more…but I can’t…aghhhh…😰

 

 


Mary E. Pearson

Mary E. Pearson is the author of The Jenna Fox Chronicles as well as The Remnant Chronicles – the third book of which just came out recently.

This Savage Song | Review

Title: This Savage Song (Monster of Verity #1)

Author: Victoria Shwab

Genre Themes: Realistic Fantasy, Futuristic, Alternate Reality?, Bloody, Violent, Crime, War

Date Published: July 5th, 2016

Cover Rating: 4.5/5

Buy: This Savage Song

Synopsis:  There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.


I got this book in the July (I think) Owlcrate Box.

I really love this cover! And the song on the back cover was really cool (and stuck in my head for, like, three days).

 

This was my first Victoria Shwab book, and I didn’t love it as much as I wanted to.

It took me a while to warm up to Kate, who was our human protagonist. I didn’t really like her at first, and by the end, I was more tolerating her than anything. I didn’t particularly love or hate her – she was just kinda eh. I did enjoy hearing her backstory, and kind of figuring out the mystery of her past.

August, on the other hand, I loved from the beginning. I can’t even say why – I just liked him. I liked his sister Ilsa as well – as for Leo, well…

 

It was very well written, and very engaging. I like Victoria Shwab’s writing style, and the overall tone she puts into her books. I would be really interested to know how she comes up with these monsters.

 

I thought that it was a stand-alone originally, so I found to romance to be underwhelming. Turns out, it’s a series, so I’m giving it a little leeway.

And to be honest, while I would have liked more romance, the story was fine without it. Still crossing my fingers for book two though!

 

When the second book comes out, I will definitely read it, but it’s not consuming my life or anything.

I’m interesting in what you guys think as well! I know this is a really loved author and book, so what were your opinions? Also, did anyone else love the song on the back cover?