Because You Love to Hate Me | Review

Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of VillainyTitle: Because You Love to Hate Me

Authors:  Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon

+14 Booktubers

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Genre: Science Fiction + Dystopian + Fantasy

Format: Hardcover


Synopsis

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk”. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!


★ ★ ★ ★

I was really looking forward to this book, and for the most part it didn’t disappoint!

 

The authors wrote a short story based on a prompt from the Booktuber, and the booktuber wrote a 2-3 page “essay”. Sometimes talking about how to tell when you’re a villain, and sometimes talking about the short story in particular. Usually, these were pretty amusing to read.

 

I actually don’t want to spend forever writing about every short story, so instead I’m going to feature some of my favorite stories\essays. (In the order that I read them).

 

 

Gwen and Art and Lance \ The Bad Girl Hall of Fame

by Soman Chainani \ Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes)

The prompt for this story was a mix between the Persephone and Hades myth and the King Arthur story, in a modern setting.

This story is told entirely in texts, which was awesome. Plus it made me feel like I read the story really fast, even though the plot was normal speed.

I really love Soman Chainani’s writing, though after reading this story I think I prefer his middle-grade to his YA 😂. That said, I still loved it.

And Samatha’s thoughts on the Persephone and Hades myth in The Bad Girl Hall of Fame were perfect!

 

Beautiful Venom \ Without The Evil In The World, How Do We See The Good?

by Cindy Pon \ Benjamin Alderson

This is a retelling of the Medusa myth, so I knew I would like it – I love Greek Mythology – but it totally blindsided me!

First of all, Cindy Pon is an amazing writer. The writing hooked me instantly, and I’m seriously reconsidering picking up her books.

Second of all, the Asian twist was unexpected and probably my favorite part! I really hope that Cindy Pon wrote some other fantasy books, because they must be amazing!

The essay definitely made me think, and put yet another spin on Medusa, which I appreciated.

 

Sera \ The Bad Girls’ Guide to Villainy

by Nicola Yoon \ Steph Sinclair and Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery)


The prompt for this one is “genderbent god of war“. I pretty much knew it would be awesome.

I like the take on it – that Sera might not necessarily be a villain, but that it’s fated – and the way it’s written made it go by really fast, in a good way.

The essay was funny, yet could totally be used as a guide to becoming a villain. I just might use it.

 

 

Overall Thoughts

A really unique anthology! I loved it! I would love one of these, but with book bloggers!


marrillcollins@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

