The Wicked Will Rise | Book Review

Title: The Wicked Will Rise (Dorothy Must Die #2)

Author: Danielle Paige

Publisher: Harper Collins

Genre: Fantasy, Retelling

Format: Hardcover


Synopsis

My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas. After a tornado swept through my trailer park, I ended up in Oz. But it wasn’t like the Oz I knew from books and movies. Dorothy had returned, but she was now a ruthless dictator. Glinda could no longer be called the Good Witch. And the Wicked Witches who were left? They’d joined forces as the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and they wanted to recruit me.

My mission? Kill Dorothy. Except my job as assassin didn’t work out as planned. Dorothy is still alive. The Order has vanished. And the home I couldn’t wait to leave behind might be in danger.

Somehow, across a twisted and divided land, I have to find the Order, protect the true ruler of Oz, take Dorothy and her henchmen down—and try to figure out what I’m really doing here.

Divider.2

★ ★

Not my favorite sequel, people.

Yes, that is how I’m starting this review.

 

 

Because I’m feeling argumentative, I’m starting with my complaints My main problem with this book was our protagonist. Amy was just such…a brat. I get that this may be intention – as part of her good\evil character arc – but there were so many times that she was just blatantly selfish and brutal.

I didn’t get any emotion from her either. I saw no reason for her to be motivated, or care for anyone. She as just so detached from everything else.

 

 

The storyline was paced fine, but ONCE AGAIN the synopsis has almost NOTHING to do with this book!

The synopsis on the back – and even on the inside cover – pertains to the third book, and not this one. (For what I’m talking about, feel free to go look at my original review: Dorothy Must Die)

 

 

Much like Amy, the romance felt forced, and wasn’t really anything I was interested in.

 

 

I don’t know you guys. I’m just kind of eh about all of it. I am reading the third book, because I bought a signed copy and therefore I need to.

…I’m seriously hoping the third book redeems this series for me, but I’m not hopeful.

Divider.2

What did you think of The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige?

Leave a Reply

